Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Symptoms of being human
2016
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Where is it?' section below.
Where is it?
Annotations

A gender-fluid teen who identifies as a boy or girl on different days—and whose challenges are complicated by a new school and a conservative politician father—is encouraged by a therapist to write an anonymous blog that goes unexpectedly viral. A first novel. Simultaneous eBook. 40,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

Struggling with identity, Riley, a gender-fluid teenager, starts an anonymous blog after a therapist encourages it, but when the blog goes viral Riley must make a choice--to walk away or to risk everything and come out. - (Baker & Taylor)

"A gender-fluid teenager who struggles with identity creates a blog on the topic that goes viral, and faces ridicule at the hands of fellow students"-- - (Baker & Taylor)

Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1